May 2nd, 1863

The Alpine Club, the oldest mountain climbing organization in the country, takes its first walk to Birch and Prospect Glens. The Club’s mission was to “explore the interesting places in the vicinity, to become acquainted… with the natural history of the localities, and also to improve the pedestrian powers of the members.” The first members were nine Williamstown women: Miss Dewey, Miss Tatlock, Miss Ruth Sabin, Miss Bessie Sabin, Miss Whitman, Miss Foote, Miss Kilby, Miss Louisa Hopkins, and Miss Carrie Hopkins. Williams Professor Albert Hopkins was elected Chronicler of the Club.